Safe MKE: A Violence Prevention Symposium

January 12, 2017
7:00 am - 12:00 pm

100 Manpower Place


Safe MKE: A Violence Prevention Symposium

The Greater Milwaukee Committee, Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin, Mayor Tom Barrett, the Office of Violence Prevention, United Way of Greater Milwaukee and Waukesha County and the Prevention Institute are planning a half -day symposium to educate and engage our community in efforts that diminish violence.

With support from co-hosts Peggy Troy and John Schlifske, Mayor Tom Barrett, Reggie Moore, Ted Kellner, Mary Lou young and Brad Lichtenstein, we ensure this event will be a success.

The program is titled SAFE MKE and will be held on January 12 from 7:30am-noon at Manpower. We will discuss current violence prevention efforts, national best practices and how to best engage and align all efforts across local and national organizations to tackle this important issue.

Violence can be treated as a public health issue and when addressed as such, we can make a meaningful difference in preventing it and healing. With your engagement, we are confident we will have a successful and informed dialogue and call to action for our community.

Event Agenda:
7:30am- Breakfast, Registration, Networking

7:45am Welcome

Peggy Troy, CEO, Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin
Eric Christopherson, President, Northwestern Mutual Foundation
Julia Taylor, President, Greater Milwaukee Committee

8:15am- Office of Violence Prevention overview

8:30am- Prevention Institute Keynote

9:00am- Precious Lives Pop-Up Show

9:30- Local Initiatives Panel

Facilitated by Reggie Moore

Chief Judge Maxine White
Hector Colon, Health & Human Services
Paula Roberts, Director of Community Health, Project Ujima, Children’s Hospital
Tonette Walker, Fostering Futures (invited)

10:30am- National Models Panel

Facilitated by Prevention Institute

Freddy Barton, Safe & Sounds Hillsborough (Tampa, Florida)
Marcus McAllister, CureViolence.org (Chicago)

11:30- Feedback from participants

11:45am Final Remarks/Call to Action

Host Committee
Peggy Troy
John Schlifske
Mayor Tom Barrett
Ted Kellner
Brad Lichtenstein
Reggie Moore
Julia Taylor
Mary Lou Young

Register Now!

Membership (Annual)

Annual Memberships

Lifetime Membership

Lifetime Member options


NAACP Milwaukee Events (Next Month)


16jul10:00 am11:30 amMoved OnlineVirtual EventNAACP Milwaukee Executive MeetingFor NAACP Milwaukee Executive Committee members OnlyContact NAACP Milwaukee for Zoom Credentials

16jul11:30 am1:00 pmMoved OnlineVirtual EventNAACP Milwaukee Membership MeetingFor NAACP Milwaukee Members OnlyContact NAACP Milwaukee for Zoom Credentials